ARA Future Leaders Program

37 young stars take part in the 2018 ARA Future Leaders Program

Aiming to create and retain great leaders throughout rail, the 2018 ARA Future Leaders Program commenced in Melbourne, bringing 37 emerging leaders from throughout the Australasian rail industry together to develop their leadership skills and build networks across the sector.

The six month program provides a holistic view of the rail industry and its future direction, develops leadership and management skills of the participants and sees group projects completed with assistance from industry mentors.

The program connects and creates a broad network of young leaders. To nurture this network, the ARA launched an Alumni in September 2018 and through this Alumni, will continue to link young stars throughout the industry .

The 2018 ARA Future Leaders Program is structured across three face-to-face workshops. The final projects will be presented as part of the AusRAIL 2018 Agenda. Metro Trains sponsored workshop one, Transdev sponsored the Alumni Program Launch at workshop two and Jacobs is supporting the 2018 program.

Further information can be found in the ARA Future Leaders Program brochure

The 2018 ARA Future Leaders are:

Stanley Weng, Arup
Campbell Loudon, KiwiRail
Jason Fooks, Siemens
Casey Milburn, Aurecon
Matthew Barker, Knorr-Bremse Australia
Joshua Steed, SNC-Lavalin
Elias Kassas, BHP
George Bechara, Laing O’Rouke
Odette Gan, Sydney Trains
Charlotte Moss, Bombardier Transportation
Simon Duke, McConnell Dowell
Vanessa Sullivan, TasRail

Chantelle Singleton, Metro Trains Melbourne
James Porteous, Taylor Rail Australia
Ian Forbes, Commonwealth Steel Company
Nick Demakis, NSW Trainlink
Mu Qi, Thales
Ryan Cush, CPB Contractors
Daniel Price, Pacific National
Teneil Harrison, Transdev
Sushmitha Babu, DPTI
David Bardos, Port of Melbourne
Shelly Fraser, Transport Canberra

Liam O’Shanessy, Downer
Yang Lit Phay, PTAWA
Ryan Kumar, UGL Unipart
Daniel Richter, Jacobs
Nicola Belcher, Public Transport Victoria
Cristin Williams, V/Line
Irfan Hameed, John Holland
Justine Scarff, Queensland Rail
Melanie Bowden, CPB Contractors
Bradley Hocking, Shoal Engineering
Benjamin Buckle, Yarra Trams

This year the Future Leaders are working on the following projects:

  • Awareness and Acceptance of Diversity: To explore gender issues faced by the rail industry and develop methods to improve retention through awareness and acceptance of diversity.
  • Employee exchange program: a detailed feasibility study and implementation strategy for the Employee Exchange Program.
  • Rail eHub: an initiative to create a free interactive web tool for the rail industry to share and find key information and help drive innovation.
  • Rail M8: smart device app and website to make rail more accessible for new entrants to the industry and demystify jargon.
  • RailTalk: an integrated, digital, community platform that connects commuters on trains through gamification (the application of multiplayer mobile games and activities to convey information and promote interest in the rail industry).
  • Standard translator: a tool that enables immediate comparison between the standards that address the same application.

Future Leaders video